amber glory

sharing my thoughts to inspire yours

Over Coffee… March 21, 2007

Filed under: Bible — amberglory @ 5:18 pm

over-coffee1.jpg

One of my favorite things to do since I met Brandon is to sit in a Cafe and, over coffee or mocha latte, talk about our dreams, world issues, problem solutions, and mostly, theology. Theology is simply the study of God. What is he like? What makes him tick? What does He think about things? And of course, the study book to find the answers to all that is the Bible. You could easily find us having to order a second round of caffeine just so we could finish our debate. “”And three hours later Brandon and Amber Greene have solved another problem in the universe.””

I could sit for hours and talk about subjects in the Bible. I study a LOT. I just have this insatiable desire to know truth. In this post-modern age we live in today, you can hardly find a standard of truth. Truth is what you want it to be. Of course, that’s the furthest thing from the truth! No wonder so many of this generation are apathetic and mostly unidealistic.

Over coffee yesterday, Brandon and I discussed the fact that too often Christians leave a church service or even seminary with still so many unanswered questions. I have a trillion of them! But they are getting answered one by one the more I read the Word of God without religious glasses or preconceived ideas. My paradigms are beginning to shift. I’m starting to understand. And at the same time, the more I know, the more I realize how much I don’t know. God is so mysterious to our finite mind. Yet, He gladly reveals Himself to those who diligently seek Him.

I am what you’d call a stickler for truth. Is what we believe really biblical or is it just another belief we inherited from our surroundings, our denomination, people’s experiences, our culture, etc. Truth is not relevant. It is. Just as HE IS. He is truth. Somebody shout, “Preach it sister!” Yeah, I hear ya.

Maybe you can join me for some coffee someday… just be prepared, because I’m full of it (in a good way, that is)!

 

One Response to “Over Coffee…”

  1. mescea Says:

    Hey girl,

    I would love to have coffiee with you sometime thanks for asking…

    actually i would love to meet you and talk about God.

    Renee Alex


Leave a Reply

